A child in front of a classroom presenting a representation of a chemical compound.

We have three Curious Minds award levels: Silver, Gold and Platinum. Keep reading for an overview of each.

Please note: as part of our Curious Minds rebrand, our award names have changed. We would like to reassure you that the criteria for these awards is the same as in past years.


Formerly named the Certificate of STEM

The Silver Award is ideal for schools who are entering for the first time. Two classes from your school must participate.

This award is the perfect way to start deepening STEM engagement in your school. Achieving a Silver Award is a huge win for any school looking to celebrate their STEM work.

Silver Awards Application Guide


Formerly named the Plaque of STEM

The Gold Award is a fantastic option for schools that have completed a Silver Award (or Certificate of STEM) and are looking to enhance their STEM learning.

This award must include more than half of the classes in your school.

The Gold Award involves more informal STEM learning, with learners sharing the fun both inside and outside the classroom. This might involve schools taking part in a national STEM week or visiting a Discover Centre.

Gold Awards Application Guide


Formerly named the Badge of Excellence

The Platinum Award is suitable for schools that have completed one or more Gold Awards (or Plaques of STEM) and are looking for a new challenge.

This award focusses on raising awareness of STEM and how taking part has improved the school community.

Entrants must choose an outcome at the beginning of the year, achieve that outcome and then demonstrate its impact.

Platinum Application Awards Guide

New applicants for the Platinum Award 2023 are no longer being accepted.

Your privacy settings

In order to allow the use of multimedia content on this website you must accept the use of miscellaneous cookies.