The SFI St. Patrick's Day Science Medal 2018 is due to launch in Q2 2018.

On this page you will find information on the closed St. Patrick's Day Science Medal 2017 call.

The launch date and call details are subject to change, e.g. in response to alterations in Science Foundation Ireland’s annual grants budget, staffing resources, other new schemes Science Foundation Ireland may develop and government policy / priorities.

Please subscribe to our email alerts to receive information on call launches and other Science Foundation Ireland related information.

The SFI St. Patrick’s Day Science Medal is awarded annually to a distinguished Irish scientist, engineer or technology leader living and working in the USA. In 2016 the competition was further developed to include a specific award for an industry leader. 

Past medal recipients

2017 – Prof Adrian Raftery, University of Washington (Academic Medal)
2017 – Dr T. Pearse Lyons, Founder and President of Alltech (Industry Medal)
2016 – Dr Craig Barrett, ex Intel (Industry Medal)
2016 – Prof Séamus Davis, Cornell University (Academic Medal)
2015 – Prof Katherine Fitzgerald, University of Massachusetts
2014 – Dr Garret FitzGerald, University of Pennsylvania

Both the industry and academic medals recognize individuals who are not only outstanding in their fields of expertise but who also have demonstrably assisted researchers in Ireland in either academia or industry – via mentorship, supervision, collaboration, industrial development, entrepreneurship or who have made significant contributions to developing the research ecosystem in Ireland.

Nominations are now being sought for the 2018 SFI St. Patrick’s Day Science Medal Award.



Nominations must be submitted to by 5pm (Dublin local time) on Friday, October 20th 2017.


Please email or call + 353 1 607 3211 with any queries.